Home>> Departments>> Bridges



About Department

     Bridges Department which was functioning as a part of Works Department came into existence as a separate full fledged department from 10.2.1994.

In order to improve the existing traffic infrastructure facilities to facilitate free flow of traffic in all possible directions and with a view to provide sustainable traffic management system for future requirements different types of Bridges are taken up.

There are four major watercourses, viz., Cooum River, Buckingham Canal, Adyar River and Otteri Nullah running within the city limit. Besides these, minor channels like Captain Cotton Canal, Virugambakkam Channel, Mambalam Channel etc., run as feeder channels.

Bridges Department is involved in constructing vehicular bridges, culverts, foot-bridges etc., across the waterways to connect the areas situated on either side of the waterways.

This department  along with Railways is involved in constructing Railway Over Bridges and Railway Under Bridges (Subways) in lieu of Railway level crossings aiming to reduce travel time and achieve fuel savings.

As on date, 272 Bridges/ROB/RUB i.e., 67 High Level Bridge , 32 Box Culverts, 84 Slab Culverts, 12 Rail Over Bridges, 16 Rail Under Bridges, 6 Pedestrian Subways, 6 Causeway, 35 Foot Bridges and 14 Grade Separators   are being maintained by Corporation of Chennai.  

Routine maintenance of bridges will be carried out by respective Zones and Special nature of Structural maintenance of bridges will be carried out by Bridges Department.

1. Organisation Chart of Bridges Department
2. List of Bridges