Home>>  Council Department

Council Department


    Council is a body consisting of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and elected Councilors of Chennai City.  The Greater Chennai Corporation Council consists of a Mayor and 200 Councillors. Among them a Councilor will be elected as Mayor and another Councilor will be elected ad Deputy Mayor. 
              The elected Council was dissolved in the year November 1973.   After a long spell of 23 years the council was formed again, after conducted an election on Oct 1996 directly elected Mayor and 155 Councilors were assumed charge. Now as per the New Amendment 200 wards have been created (by extending of city limit) and Hon’ble Mayor and Councilor have been directly elected by the Public. The tenure of the office of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councilors are 5 years. As per the New amendment in Tamil Nadu Act 10 of 2016, the Council shall at its first meeting after each ordinary election to the Council, elect one of its Councilor to be the Mayor.


    The elected Mayor will assume office for a period of 5 years. The Mayor is the Presiding Officer in the Council Meeting. The Mayor shall have full access to peruse all records of the Corporation and may obtain reports from the Commissioner on any matter connected with the administration of the Corporation. The Mayor will act as an intermediary between the Government and the Commissioner. The Mayor shall be the ex-office member of every Standing Committee, ward Committee and Joint Committees constituted under the provisions of the Act, but shall not be eligible to be elected as the Chairman of any Committee. Besides this he is also the Chairman of the Appointment Committee. Each Committee are convened every month and conduct itís meeting.

Deputy Mayor:

    Deputy Mayor is elected from one among the Councillors, his tenure will be 5 years. Deputy Mayor will attend the meeting along with Mayor. When the office of the Mayor is vacant or if the Mayor is continuously absent from the city or is incapacitated shall devolve on the Deputy Mayor.  The Mayor may, by an order in writing delegate any of his functions to the Deputy Mayor.

Ward Committee

    The Greater Chennai Corporation consists of 15 Zones, Each Zone have a Ward Committee the Councillors of respective zones shall be the members, they will elect one among them as the Chairman of Ward Committee. The tenure of the Members as well as Chairman of all the Committees shall be 5 years from the date of election. The Ward Committee shall pass resolution and send to Council meeting for approval.

Standing Committee

    As per the C.C.M.C. Act (1919) 6 standing Committees were constituted for efficient performance and functions of the Corporation.
    All these Committees are functioning at Head Office, Ripon Buildings.
    The Standing Committees are;
    1) Taxation and Finance Committee
    2) Works Committee
    3) Health and Family Welfare Committee
    4) Town Planning Committee
    5) Education (Parks and Play fields) Committee.
    6) Accounts and Audit Committee.

    Every Standing Committee shall consist of 15 members, They are elected by the Councillors in meeting specially convened for that purpose and the Chairman of each Standing Committee shall be elected from among the members of such Committee. The Standing Committee is convened for meeting every month, and pass Resolution and send to Council for Approval.

Appointment Commitee

    Honíble Mayor is the Chairman of Appointment Committee, two elected Councilors and Commissioner are members of this Committee. This Committee is convened every month and deals with all Establishment and Administration matters of Corporation of Chennai.


    As per CCMC Act 1919 Schedule II section 3(1)(a), every month Council Meeting is convened by Honíble Mayor and discuss the Public issues, Corporation administration matter and the agenda placed before it. After passing the resolution by the Council the subjects are sent to concerned Head of Departments / Zonal Offices for taking further necessary action and to comply the resolution passed thereon.